12 posts :: Page 1 of 1
By: SportTouringBKK (offline)  Saturday, 22 December 2007 @ 09:01 AM ICT (Read 12759 times)  

Sawasdee Khrap!

I'm still relatively new to Thailand and am looking for a decent sport touring bike. My first choice is the VFR Interceptor but I'm also intrigued by the Suzuki GSX1400 they've got over at Red Baron.

I keep hearing about fake/altered Green Books and my question is- What is this "Green Book" and how can you tell if it is legitimate or not?

I've seen some nice bikes at Red Baron and Siam Superbike and it sounds like both shops are reputable. Any opinions/feedback on these shops or recommendations for other places I might have missed?

Thanks for your help! Looking forward to getting back on two wheels soon! Mr. Green

Cheers,

SportTouringBKK

The Large Print Giveth, and the Small Print Taketh Away

SportTouringBKK

Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

By: news (offline)  Sunday, 23 December 2007 @ 04:23 PM ICT  

The green book is a sort of a passport for your motorcycle. The easiest way to see it it is legit is by checking all the numbers in the book and on the bike.

Also as the book says Honda Wave 400cc and you looking and a Honda CB-400 (CB1) then you not need to be a rocket scientist.

Also if it is a second hand bike go with them to the government office to change the ownership, if this is not possible or you have the idea that they don't want you to tack along, that can be another indication of something wrong. As fake green books are normally impossible to change ownership or re-register in other province.

news

Group Comfort
Level:
: +34

By: SportTouringBKK (offline)  Sunday, 23 December 2007 @ 09:03 PM ICT  

Thank you! Big Grin

That is incredibly helpful.