19 posts :: Page 1 of 2
By: Anonymous: Max ()  Wednesday, 11 September 2013 @ 04:52 PM ICT (Read 7942 times)  

Avoid bangkokbikesrental.com !!

Dear fellow bikers. I've been renting countless bikes over Asia for the past 7 years, bangkokbikesrental is the worst place I've ever experienced. Old, badly maintained bikes, very rude service and an aggressive owner couple. Please avoid this place at all costs and save yourself money, headache and time!!

The bike we rented had over 40k km but I was assured it works fine upon pick up. After 50km out of Bangkok the engine started to switch off several times with no good reason, after 100km the gear box got stuck in 4th gear. This was all not too bad, bikes do malfunction from time to time. What followed was, however, worst service I ever experienced:

We called the shop, they told us "My bike very good, Im sure good engine, I dont believe you bike broken." Being extremely rude and unhelpful on the phone, the shop's owner finally believed us that a bike stuck in 4th gear is not a minor problem and kinda difficult to drive, and asked us to bring the bike to Kawasaki Pattaya. Unfortunately the owner gave us the wrong address, so we ended up searching for 2 hours ourselves.

We then asked for a replacement bike, but never got one. Instead we got more astonishingly rude SMS from the owners (probably intoxicated) farang husband in the middle of the night. We decided to get a new proper bike from a rental in Pattaya and continued on our tour east early next morning.

When we arrived back in Bangkok to pick up our ID and money the owner charged us 3000.- baht for bringing the broken bike back to Bangkok (is this a scam scheme to make money?). And because she decided to go shopping on a Friday afternoon (even we told her we would come that day) we had to wait 3 hours in melting heat in front of the store.